Pride by Ibi Zoboi

Pride by Ibi Zoboi

Title: Pride Author: Ibi Zoboi Genre: Fiction Latinxs: Haitian-American Author, Afro-Latinx About: Zuri Benitez has pride. Brooklyn pride, family pride, and pride in her Afro-Latino roots. But pride might not be enough to save her rapidly gentrifying neighborhood from becoming unrecognizable. When the wealthy Darcy family moves in across the street, Zuri wants nothing to do with [...]

Hijas Americanas: Beauty, Body Image, and Growing Up Latina by Rosie Molinary

Hijas Americanas: Beauty, Body Image, and Growing Up Latina by Rosie Molinary

Title: Hijas Americanas: Beauty, Body Image, and Growing Up Latina  Author: Rosie Molinary Genre: Non-Fiction Latinxs: Various About: In Hijas Americanas, author Rosie Molinary sheds new light on what it means to grow up Latina. Drawing upon her own experiences, as well as interviews and surveys collected from more than 500 Latina women, Molinary provides a powerful [...]

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Title: American Street Author: Ibi Zoboi Genre: Fiction Latinxs: Haiti About: American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism [...]

Krik? Krak! by Edwidge Danticat

Krik? Krak! by Edwidge Danticat

Title: Krik? Krak! Author: Edwidge Danticat Genre: Short Story Collection, Fiction Latinxs: Haitians About: When Haitians tell a story, they say “Krik?” and the eager listeners answer “Krak!” In Krik? Krak! In her second novel, Edwidge Danticat establishes herself as the latest heir to that narrative tradition with nine stories that encompass both the cruelties [...]